chakra         chakra

  ::Allied Links::

•  Agriculture
•  Sericulture
•  Soil Conservation
•  Wastelands
•  Fisheries
•  Veterinary

  ::Nagaland Sites::
•  Disclaimer
•  Contact
Crop Profile Form new[1].gif (2455 bytes)

Department of Horticulture Nagaland

The Department of Horticulture was bifurcated from the Department of Agriculture in 1992. It is headed by a Director assisted by two Joint Directors and one Sr. Fruit Technological Officer in the rank of Joint Director, Four Deputy Directors, four Junior Officers including one Junior Accounts Officer and a host of Ministerial staff headed by a Registrar.

The Department has established District Head Quarters Office in all the 8 (eight) District headed by District Horticulture Officer. They are assisted by one Horticulture Officer, Asst. Horticulture Officer, four to five Horticulture Extension Asst. And few Ministerial Staff in each District. Recently, the department has set up one Sub-Divisional Office at Shamatore under Tuensang District.

The department has also three state subsidiary establishment ;

 1. State Horticulture Nursery-cum-mushroon development Centre, 4th Mile Dimapur headed by a Research Officer.

 2. Fruit Canning Factory and Citrus Farm at Longnak headed by one subject Matter Specialist.

 3. Horticulture Progeny-cum-research Farm, Pfutsero headed by a Horticulture Officer.


 1. A project should be not less than 10.00 Ha. On compact area basis subject to verification by respective District Horticulture Officer about its feasibility.

 2. After the approval for opening of a Project, the department used to provide fruit seedlings depending on the climatic condition at free of cost. In the second year, a subsidy is granted which is based on actual plantation area. The grant of subsidy will continue till the crop attains to its gestation period depending on crops.

 3. Other inputs such as fencing materials, fertilizers, plant protection chemicals, etc. are provided to the project from time to time depending on fund availability.

 4. The department encourages to take up new plantation of orchards with the following crops under this scheme ;

   1. Mandarin            7 Plum

   2. Sweet Orange     8. Pear

   3. Pineapple            9. Peach

   4. Banana             10. Pomegranate, etc.

   5. Passion fruit      11. Other nut fruits

   6. Litchi                12. Coconut plantation


Content on this website is published and managed by Department of Horticulture, Govt. of Nagaland

eMail :


Home | About | Disclaimer | Contact Us

Copyrights 2003 All rights reserved ::Horticulture Department Nagaland::